“It is far better to buy a wonderful company at a fair price than to buy a fair company at a wonderful price.”

Warren Buffet

Despite his young age, Rene Marius Köhler has already had the opportunity to gain experience in the private equity industry. In 2008, the Samwer brothers were the first investors in INTERNETSTORES, with the European Founders Fund. After a large number of transactions, Rene Marius Köhler is now Industry Advisor to EQT and a member of the Partners Group’s Entrepreneurs Circle; he also invests in the funds offered by these two providers.

In addition, investments are evaluated through a personal network consisting of Lakestar, CherryVentures and Project A, for example, whose co-founder Dr Florian Heinemann was a long-standing member of the board of INTERNETSTORES.

Founders Fund

The Founders Fund, based in Silicon Valley, was established in 2005 by Peter Thiel. Peter is the co-founder of PayPal and Palantir and was the first external investor in Facebook. His funds have invested in companies like Airbnb, SpaceX, Lyft, and Spotify. The KOEHLER GROUP invested in Founders Fund Growth in 2019, which focuses on rapidly growing technology companies.

DST Global Logo

DST Global is a growth equity firm specialising in late-stage investments in internet companies in the USA and China. The firm was founded in 2009 by star investor Yuri Milner and has invested USD 9.3 billion in 6 funds to date. KOEHLER GROUP invested in DST Global VII in 2019 and in DST Global VIII in 2021, which have a fund sizes of USD 1.5 billion.

The globally active venture capital and private equity company invests in fast-growing technology and software companies that are driving transformative change in their industries. Insight Partners was founded in 1995 and has invested in more than 400 companies worldwide. More than 30 billion US dollars in capital pledges were made by investors across all funds.

468 Capital Logo

468 Capital is an early-stage deep tech fund. It was founded by Alexander Kudlich and Ludwig Ensthaler, who previously held senior positions at Rocket Internet, and Florian Leibert, who founded the cloud software company Mesosphere (today: D2iQ) in Silicon Valley. The intention is for the fund to invest primarily in start-ups operating in the segments of machine learning, open source and automation. The KOEHLER.GROUP invested in 468 Capital in 2020.

Bond Logo

Bond Capital is a private equity firm that specialises in growth investments in technology companies. Under the leadership of star Internet analyst Mary Meeker, the Bond team has built up three growth funds with a total volume of USD 2.7 billion since 2010. With Bond, a new fund has now been set up with a volume of USD 1.25 billion. Previously, investments have been made in companies such as Uber, airbnb and Spotify. The KOEHLER GROUP invested in the Bond Capital Fund in 2019 and in BOND II in 2021.

eqt-fond

EQT is a leading company in the alternative investment sector and has raised close to EUR 50 billion in capital across 27 established funds. EQT Funds manages portfolio companies in Europe, Asia and the USA. To date, Rene Marius Köhler has invested in the EQT 7, EQT Midmarket and EQT Ventures funds.

Khosla Ventures Logo

Khosla Ventures is an American venture capital company which was founded in 2004 by Vinod Khosla, the co-founder of Sun Microsystems. The company has assets totalling more than $5 billion under management. The investments are made in many different sectors such as financial services, healthcare, big data and sustainable energy. KOEHLER GROUP invested in Khosla Ventures VII and Opportunity I in 2021.

The Partners Group is one of the largest global managers of private market investments. The company invests in the financing and development of companies and real estate, along with the necessary infrastructure. Its objective is to create added value for the investments through active, long-term and responsible equity stakes. Rene Marius Köhler has invested in the Partners Group Direct Fund.

Kaszek Ventures Logo

Kaszek Ventures was founded by the founders of MercadoLibre, Hernan Kazah and Nicolas Szekasy, in 2011. The company is headquartered in Argentina and is one of the leading technology and venture capital funds in Latin America. Previous investments have been made, for instance, in companies such as the world’s largest neobank, Nubank and Kavak, the first unicorn from Mexico. The KOEHLER GROUP invested in Kaszek Ventures V & Opportunity II in 2021.

Project-A

Project A is a Berlin-based early-stage investor and operational venture capital fund focusing on e-commerce & marketplaces, data-based infrastructure solutions and software as a service. The fund helps founders to build up companies that will be able to enjoy sustainable success. Rene Marius Köhler invested in Project A II in 2015 and in Project A III in 2018.

Cherry

Cherry Ventures is a Berlin-based venture capital fund that invests in promising ideas and teams throughout Europe, at an early a stage as possible. As a platform for the transfer of capital and know-how, Cherry Ventures supports companies and offers founders access to a network of successful start-ups. Rene Marius Köhler invested in Cherry Ventures II in 2016 and in Cherry Ventures III in 2019.

Cinven Logo

Cinven is an international private equity firm with 40 years of experience. The areas in which Cinven invests range from the healthcare sector to the service sector and industry. Cinven manages the capital of more than 200 investors worldwide. That is more than 130 investments at an amount of USD 37 billion. The KOEHLER GROUP invested in the Cinven 7 fund in 2019 via the private equity platform Moonfare.

lakestar-dark

Lakestar is a venture capital firm that invests in and supports outstanding digital and technology-based entrepreneurs around the globe, both in the early stages of their businesses and during their growth phase. The KOEHLER GROUP invested in Lakestar Growth I in 2018.

Lerer Hippea Logo

Lerer Hippeau is a venture capital investor based in New York. The company helps the founders of technology companies build up leading companies in their sector by making early stage investments and supporting the team. The fund has been involved in establishing successful companies such as GIPHY, Casper and BuzzFeed. The KOEHLER GROUP invested in the Lerer Hippeau Select Fund III in 2020 via the private equity platform Moonfare.

IVP Logo

Institutional Venture Partners (IVP) is one of the leading late-stage venture capital and growth equity companies based in Silicon Valley. The company manages 7 billion US dollars and has an IRR of 43.1% over 39 years. IVP was founded in 1980 and has already invested in over 400 companies 116 of which have gone public. The KOEHLER GROUP invested in IVP XVII in 2021.

Top private equity investments

Robin Hood Logo

Robinhood, an online stockbroker, operates an app that can be used by the man in the street to access financial markets. Users can buy and sell listed US shares and exchange traded funds without paying any commission. The app is intended to make it easier to manage money and trade shares.

Instacart Logo

Instacart, an on-demand eCommerce grocery service in the US and Canada, allows users to have groceries delivered to their home from a wide range of shops. Drivers collect groceries from the supermarket and deliver them to customers. Founded in 2012, the company is one of North America’s largest online grocery suppliers.

Chime Logo

As one of the frontrunners in the US challenger banking segment, chime helps its members to avoid bank charges and save money, while giving them the opportunity to have full control of their finances, by adopting a mobile approach. The company is based in San Francisco and is one of the most popular financial management apps in the app store.

Flink Logo

Flink delivers groceries to consumers’ doors within ten minutes – at supermarket prices. This is possible thanks to a decentralised warehouse system. Flink is currently the biggest competitor of the grocery supplier, Gorillas, and continues to enjoy rapid growth in Germany and Europe.

GetYourGuide Logo Quadrat

GetYourGuide is a travel experience booking platform that enables unique international tours and activities to be effortlessly booked online. The company was founded in 2008 in Berlin and is one of the few unicorns from German-speaking countries.

On Logo

The sporting goods manufacturer, On, is now represented in over 50 countries around the world and listed as the fastest growing global sporting goods company. Its product range includes shoes, clothing and accessories for men and women.

Canva Logo

Canva allows anyone to become a graphic designer and produce professional graphical content. This is possible thanks to a user-friendly interface, without any of the unnecessary applications of other graphic design tools, as well as more intuitive drag-and-drop functions. The content produced can be exported to the Internet or social media.

Hedvig Logo quadratisch

Hedvig is becoming the first customer-focused, fully digital property and accident insurer in the Nordic countries. The company has set itself the goal of handling insurance matters using a fair and transparent business model and of improving the customer experience.

InDriver Logo

The taxi app InDriver follows an impressive, innovative, peer-to-peer-based RTD (Real Time Deals) model. Customers enter their destination and proposed fare into the app, and drivers in the vicinity can then accept or reject the job, or submit a counter-quote. InDriver is one of the world’s most downloaded taxi apps.

infarm Logo

The Berlin-based Agtech start-up facilitates urban agriculture. The company produces and operates modular systems for the vertical cultivation of herbs and vegetables in strategic consumer centres such as supermarkets, restaurants and hotels. This is possible thanks to smart greenhouses located at these sites.

Voi Logo

This Swedish micro-mobility start-up provides a network of eScooters in urban areas throughout Europe. Its aim is to create an affordable, sustainable and exciting way of reducing commuting distances. Consumers can therefore minimise their CO2 footprint, while cities gain a more sustainable transport network.

amazd Logo

This German company is creating a new type of online customer journey for “high-consideration” purchases. It provides a retail platform with flexible communication channels. The aim is to combine the ease of online shopping with the quality of advice and individuality of offline purchasing.

»Es ist weit besser, ein wundervolles Unternehmen zu einem fairen Preis zu kaufen als ein faires Unternehmen zu einem wundervollen Preis.«
Warren Buffet

Trotz seines jungen Alters hat Rene Marius Köhler bereits einige Erfahrung in der Private Equity Industrie. 2008 waren die Samwer Brüder mit dem European Founders Fund der erste Investor von INTERNETSTORES. Nach einer Vielzahl von Transaktionen ist Rene Marius Köhler heute Industry Advisor für EQT und Member des Entrepreneurs Circle der Partners Group und investiert in Fonds dieser beiden Anbieter.

Zusätzlich werden Investments durch ein persönliches Netzwerk evaluiert, das beispielsweise zu Lakestar, CherryVentures und Project A besteht, dessen Mitgründer Dr. Florian Heinemann langjähriges Mitglied des Boards von INTERNETSTORES war.

Founders Fund

Der Founders Fund mit Sitz im Silicon Valley wurde 2005 von Peter Thiel gegründet. Peter ist Co-Founder von PayPal und Palantir und erster externer Investor von Facebook. Seine Fonds haben in Firmen wie Airbnb, SpaceX, Lyft, und Spotify investiert. Die KOEHLER GROUP hat 2019 in den Founders Fund Growth investiert, welcher den Fokus auf wachstumsstarke Technologieunternehmen legt.

DST Global Logo

DST Global ist eine Growth Equity Firma, welche sich auf Late-Stage-Investments in Internetfirmen in den USA und China spezialisiert hat. Die Firma wurde 2009 von dem Star-Investor Yuri Milner gegründet und hat bis jetzt 9,3 Mrd. $ in 6 Fonds investiert. Die KOEHLER GROUP hat 2019 in den DST Global VII und 2021 in den DST Global VIII investiert, welche jeweils ein Fondsvolumen von 1,5 Mrd. $ besitzen.

Die global tätige Venture-Capital- und Private-Equity-Gesellschaft investiert in wachstumsstarke Technologie- und Software-Unternehmen, die den transformativen Wandel in ihren Branchen vorantreiben. Insight Partners wurde 1995 gegründet und hat in mehr als 400 Unternehmen weltweit investiert. Über alle Fonds hinweg wurden von den Investoren mehr als 30 Milliarden US-Dollar an Kapitalzusagen gegeben. Die KOEHLER GROUP hat 2021 in den Insight Partners XII investiert.

468 Capital Logo

468 Capital ist ein Frühphasen Deep-Tech Fonds. Gegründet wurde dieser von Alexander Kudlich und Ludwig Ensthaler, welche zuvor in führenden Positionen bei Rocket Internet tätig waren, sowie Florian Leibert, der die Cloud-Software-Firma Mesosphere (heute: D2iQ) im Silicon Valley gründete. Die Investments des Fonds sollen insbesondere in Startups aus den Segmenten Machine Learning, Open Source und Automation erfolgen. Die KOEHLER.GROUP hat 2020 in 468 Capital I und 2021 in 468 Capital II & 468 Global Opportunities investiert.

Bond Logo

Bond Capital ist ein Private Equity Unternehmen, welches sich auf Wachstums-Investments in Technologieunternehmen spezialisiert hat. Unter der Leitung von Star-Internet-Analystin Mary Meeker hat das Bond Team seit 2010 drei Wachstumsfonds mit einem Gesamtvolumen von 2,7 Mrd. US-Dollar aufgebaut. Mit Bond wurde nun ein neuer Fonds mit einem Volumen von 1,25 Mrd. US-Dollar aufgelegt. Bisherige Investments erfolgten in Unternehmen wie z.B. Uber, airbnb und Spotify. KOEHLER GROUP hat 2019 in den Bond Capital Fund und 2021 in BOND II investiert.

eqt-fond

EQT ist ein führendes Unternehmen für alternative Investments mit mehr als 71 Milliarden an eingesammeltem Kapital in 27 gegründeten Fonds. EQT Fonds führen Portfoliounternehmen in Europa, Asien und den USA. Rene Marius Köhler hat bis heute in den Fonds EQT 7, EQT Midmarket und EQT Ventures investiert.

Khosla Ventures Logo

Khosla Ventures ist ein amerikanisches Venture Capital-Unternehmen, welches 2004 von Vinod Khosla, dem Co-Founder von Sun Microsystems gegründete wurde. Das verwaltete Vermögen des Unternehmens beläuft sich auf über 5 Mrd. $. Die Investments erfolgen in viele verschiedene Bereiche wie z.B. Finanzdienstleistungen, Gesundheitswesen, Big Data und nachhaltige Energien. Die KOEHLER GROUP hat 2021 in den Khosla Ventures VII und Opportunity I investiert.

Logo Summit Partners

Summit Partners wurde 1984 gegründet und hat in der Zwischenzeit in mehr als 500 Unternehmen in den Branchen Technologie, Gesundheitswesen, Biowissenschaften und anderen Wachstumsprodukten investiert. Bei mehr als 170 dieser Unternehmen erfolgte ein Börsengang und bei mehr als 200 erfolgten strategische Fusionen und Verkäufe. Aktuell wird von Summit ein Kapital von 31 Milliarden US-Dollar verwaltet. Die KOEHLER GROUP hat 2021 in Summit Partners Growth Equity XI investiert.

Partners Group ist einer der größten globalen Manager von Privatmarktanlagen. Die Firma investiert in die Finanzierung und Entwicklung von Unternehmen, Immobilien und benötigter Infrastruktur. Die Investitionen sollen einen Mehrwert durch aktive, langfristige und verantwortungsbewusste Beteiligungen schaffen. Rene Marius Köhler hat in den Partners Group Direct Fund investiert.

Kaszek Ventures Logo

Kaszek Ventures wurde im Jahr 2011 von den MercadoLibre Foundern Hernan Kazah und Nicolas Szekasy geführt. Die Firma hat ihren Hauptsitz in Argentinien und zählt zu den führenden Technologie und Venture Capital Fonds in Lateinamerika. Die bisherigen Investments erfolgten z.B. in Firmen wie die größte Neobank der Welt, Nubank und Kavak, dem ersten Unicorn aus Mexiko. Die KOEHLER GROUP hat 2021 in Kaszek Ventures V & Opportunity II investiert.

Project-A

Project A ist ein Berliner Frühphaseninvestor und operativer Venture Capital-Fonds mit Fokus auf den Bereichen eCommerce & Marktplätze, datenbasierte Infrastrukturlösungen sowie Software as a Service. Der Fonds unterstützt Gründer beim Aufbau nachhaltig erfolgreicher Unternehmen. Rene Marius Köhler hat 2015 in den Project A II und 2018 in den Project A III investiert.

Cherry

Cherry Ventures ist ein Berliner Venture Capital Fonds, der europaweit so früh wie möglich in vielversprechende Ideen und Teams investiert. Als Plattform für die Vermittlung von Kapital und Know-How unterstützt Cherry Ventures Unternehmen und bietet Gründern Zugang zu einem Netzwerk von erfolgreichen Start-Up-Unternehmern. Rene Marius Köhler hat 2016 in den Cherry Ventures II und 2019 in den Cherry Ventures III investiert.

Cinven Logo

Cinven ist ein internationales Private-Equity-Unternehmen mit 40 Jahren Erfahrung. Die Bereiche, in denen Cinven investiert, reichen vom Gesundheitssektor über den Service-Sektor bis hin zur Industrie. Cinven managt das Kapital von mehr als 200 Investoren weltweit. Das sind mehr als 130 Investments in einer Höhe von 37 Milliarden US-Dollar. Die KOEHLER GROUP hat 2019 über die Private-Equity-Plattform Moonfare in den Fonds Cinven 7 investiert.

lakestar-dark

Lakestar ist ein Venture Capital-Unternehmen, das weltweit in Früh- und Wachstumsphasen in herausragende digitale und technologiebasierte Unternehmer investiert und diese unterstützt. KOEHLER GROUP hat 2018 in den Lakestar Growth I investiert.

Lerer Hippea Logo

Lerer Hippeau ist ein Venture Capital Investor mit Sitz in New York. Das Unternehmen hilft Gründern von Technologie-Unternehmen durch die Early Stage Investments und die Unterstützung des Teams führende Unternehmen in ihrem Bereich aufzubauen. Mit Hilfe der Fonds konnten z.B. Erfolgsunternehmen wie GIPHY, Casper und BuzzFeed aufgebaut werden. Die KOEHLER GROUP hat 2020 über die Private Equity Plattform Moonfare in den Lerer Hippeau Select Fund III investiert.

IVP Logo

Institutional Venture Partners (IVP) ist eine der führenden Late Stage Venture-Capital und Growth-Equity-Firmen mit Sitz im Silicon Valley. Das Unternehmen verwaltet 7 Milliarden US-Dollar und kann eine IRR von 43,1 % über 39 Jahre vorweisen. Gegründet wurde IVP im Jahr 1980 und investierte bereits in über 400 Unternehmen, von denen 116 an die Börse gegangen sind. Die KOEHLER GROUP hat 2021 in IVP XVII investiert.

Top Investments aus den Private Equity Beteiligungen

Robin Hood Logo

Robinhood, der Online-Broker für Aktien, betreibt eine App, mit deren Hilfe der Zugang zum Finanzmarkt demokratisiert werden soll. Nutzer können gelistete U.S.-Aktien sowie börsengehandelte Fonds ohne Kommission kaufen und verkaufen. Mithilfe der App sollen die Geldverwaltung und der Aktienhandel einfach gehandhabt werden können.

Instacart Logo

Instacart, der On-Demand E-Commerce-Service für Lebensmittel in den USA und Kanada, ermöglicht es Nutzern, Lebensmittel vieler Händler nach Hause liefern zu lassen. Lieferanten holen Lebensmittel im Supermarkt ab und liefern sie zu den Kunden. Das 2012 gegründete Unternehmen zählt zu Nord-amerikas größten Online-Lebensmittellieferanten.

Chime Logo

Als einer der Spitzenreiter im U.S. Challenger-Banking-Segment hilft Chime seinen Mitgliedern, Bank-gebühren zu vermeiden, Geld zu sparen und gibt mit dem mobilen Ansatz die Möglichkeit, seine Finanzen vollständig im Griff zu haben. Das Unternehmen mit Sitz in San Francisco wurde im App-Store als eine der besten Finanzmanagement-Apps gehandelt.

Flink Logo

Flink liefert Lebensmittel innerhalb von 10 Minuten an die Türen der Konsumenten – und das zu Supermarktpreisen. Ermöglicht wird dies durch ein dezentralisiertes Lagersystem. Flink ist aktuell der größte Konkurrent zum Lebensmittellieferanten Gorillas und wächst weiterhin schnell innerhalb Deutschlands und Europas.

GetYourGuide Logo Quadrat

GetYourGuide ist eine Buchungsplattform für Reiseerlebnisse, die eine mühelose Onlinebuchung einzigartiger Touren und Aktivitäten weltweit ermöglicht. Das Unternehmen wurde 2008 in Berlin gegründet und zählt zu einem der wenigen Unicorns aus dem deutschsprachigen Raum.

On Logo

Der Sportartikelhersteller On ist heute in über 50 Ländern weltweit vertreten und wird als die schnellstwachsende Sportartikelfirma weltweit gehandelt. Die Produktpalette umfasst Schuhe, Bekleidung und Accessories für Frauen und Männer.

Canva Logo

Mit Canva kann jeder zum Grafikdesigner werden und professionelle grafische Inhalte produzieren. Ermöglicht wird dies durch eine nutzerfreundlichen Oberfläche ohne unnötige Anwendungen anderer Grafikdesigntools und intuitiver Drag-and-Drop-Funktionen. Die produzierten Inhalte können ins Web oder Social Media exportiert werden.

Hedvig Logo quadratisch

Hedvig entwickelt den ersten kundenorientierten und vollständig digitalisierten Eigentums- und Unfallversicherungsanbieter in den nordischen Ländern. Das Unternehmen hat sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Versicherungsangelegenheiten mit einem fairen und transparenten Geschäftsmodell zu gestalten und das Kundenerlebnis zu verbessern.

InDriver Logo

Die Taxi-App InDriver besticht durch ihr innovatives Peer-to-Peer-basiertes RTD (Real Time Deals) Modell. Kunden geben ihr Ziel sowie ihren Wunschpreis in die App ein, woraufhin Fahrer in der Nähe das Angebot annehmen, ablehnen oder ein Gegenangebot schicken können. InDriver gehört zu den Taxi Apps mit den meisten Downloads weltweit.

infarm Logo

Das Berliner Agtech-Startup ermöglicht die städtische Landwirtschaft. Das Unternehmen produziert und betreibt baukastenartige Systeme für den vertikalen Anbau von Kräutern und Gemüse in strategischen Konsumzentren wie Supermärkten, Restaurants und Hotels. Ermöglicht wird dies durch smarte Gewächshäuser direkt vor Ort.

Voi Logo

Das Schwedische Micromobility-Startup bietet ein Netzwerk von E-Scootern in urbanen Gegenden in ganz Europa an. Sein Ziel ist es, einen bezahlbaren, nachhaltigen und spannenden Weg zum Pendeln kürzerer Strecken zu schaffen. Konsumenten können so ihren CO2-Fußabdruck minimieren und Städte ein nachhaltigeres Transportnetzwerk haben.

amazd Logo

Das deutsche Unternehmen schafft eine neue Art der Online-Customer-Journey im Bereich der „High-Consideration“-Käufe. Es stellt eine Handelsplattform mit flexiblen Kommunikationswegen zur Verfügung. Ziel ist es, die Einfachheit des Online-Shopping mit der Beratungsqualität und Individualität des Offline-Shopping zu verknüpfen.